Home > Uncategorized > What do Greg Jennings and Kahlua cheesecake have to do with good Customer Service and Social Media?

What do Greg Jennings and Kahlua cheesecake have to do with good Customer Service and Social Media?


I’ve been giving some thought to what people expect regarding customer service on social media.

They want their voices to be acknowledged, their experiences validated, and their concerns addressed. In short, customers want to know that they’ve been heard.

Recently, I’ve had some very positive experiences on social media with brands, and I’ve had some that left me wanting.

For this post, let’s start with the positive. Let me say that if I mention a positive interaction with a brand on social media, I like getting an acknowledgment. If I don’t get an acknowledgment, does it make me think less of the brand? Not really. But if a brand is listening and validates my experience, does that make me think even more positively about them? It certainly does.

Two recent examples come to mind. With the start of the new year, we had our sons switch rooms (since one room is significantly larger than the other it seemed only fair that after nearly 6 years they should switch). My wife offered redecorating as part of the switch. My older son is a huge Packers fan so we surprised him with a Greg Jennings Fathead. My son came home from school to find it on his wall. I captured his excited expression moments later beside the Fathead with my Droid and posted the photo to my Twitter account using Twitpic.  Here’s the response I received from Fathead:

Fathead: @ChatterBachs Strong visual proof that Greg Jennings is much, much larger than your son. Hope he loved it!

Last week was the 6th celebration of my 39th birthday. My wife and I went to The Cheesecake Factory for my birthday lunch.  I posted my plans to my Twitter account.  The Cheesecake Factory responded that afternoon with this:

Cheesecake: @ChatterBachs Happy Birthday! Thx for celebrating with us! 🙂

I then replied that I had enjoyed the mushroom burger & Kahlua cheesecake, to which they responded:

Cheesecake:  Gr8 choices! 🙂 RT @ChatterBachs: Thank u! Enjoyed the mushroom burger & Kahlua chzcake. @Cheesecake Happy Birthday! Thx4 celebrating w/us!

Now… do either of these interactions mean I’ll never choose their competitors? No.  But do they make me think even more positively about what was already a positive experience? In the words of former vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin, “You betcha.”  Next time I’m looking to decorate a wall or celebrate a birthday, will I give Fathead and The Cheesecake Factory extra consideration? Definitely.

I’m surprised more organizations aren’t doing this.  It just takes someone devoted to listening to and joining these conversations.  Social media engagement creates a competitive advantage for those organizations willing to invest the time and resources. So, way to go, Fathead and The Cheesecake Factory! You are two companies that are doing social media the right way.

It should be noted that I have in no way been compensated by Fathead or The Cheesecake Factory for my remarks… that doesn’t mean that I would be opposed to a free Clay Matthews Fathead or free White Chocolate Caramel Macadamia Nut Cheesecake. 🙂  Hey… anybody listening?

  1. Juli Monroe
    January 27, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Good companies who obviously get it! Now I’m curious to hear about the not so good.

  2. January 27, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    Good post. Companies need to listen not just for negative comments, but also for positive. In fact, while not suggesting the negative should be ignored, I do believe responding to the positive has a greater long-term impact in building brand loyalty. The person who had a negative experience may be pleased and give the brand another opportunity, but maybe not. However, additional reinforcement of the positive experience through engagement, I think would go far in furthering brand loyalty and winning repeat business.

    Go Packers!
    Brenda

  3. Sarah Palin
    January 28, 2011 at 8:43 am

    Thanks for the mention – Sarah!

  4. January 28, 2011 at 11:20 am

    Listening, whether audio, body language, or in the written form, is one of the most under-utilized brain functions and social necessities.

  5. Christina
    January 28, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    It’s great to see that companies are out there listening to what the market is saying. I like to think as a social media representative for HP we are doing a good job of listening and responding to the needs of our customers. In my personal life, I love being able to engage with companies in real time. I had a negative expereince with eBay, and after posting my comments on their Facebook page, had a positive resolution in less than two hours. Awesome customer service! Thanks Ebay, keep up the good work.

  6. January 30, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Enjoyed your post. And that is why I love Best Buy! They are always listening to me even when I am doing my taxes or when I am complaining about other brands that aren’t doing social media well. By taking the time to listen to you a “brand” may just earn a customer for life. Although I am a big online comparison shopper if Best Buy has it now I will often swallow the price difference because my expereicne tells me they listen. Here’s my Best Buy “love” http://pathwaypr.com/best-buy-responds-in-5-minutes

    Theresa

  7. February 1, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Nice post! I must say I am a customer service snob. I judge places very heavily on how good or bad the customer service is. I have never thought about social media customer service. But it makes sense, today that companies should be listening online as much as in the store.

    The Green Guerilla

  1. January 28, 2011 at 12:55 pm
  2. April 26, 2011 at 10:27 pm
  3. January 31, 2012 at 10:49 pm

Leave a Reply

